9flats-bekannt-aus-tv-en
Sorry, we couldn't find your location

Oriental Themed Haven Central Zone1

Apartment, Private room - London, United Kingdom

4.0 stars (108 reviews)
Description
  • Available translations:

This is an approximately 600 square feet (55 square meters) 19th century 2 bedroom apartment apartment with a much larger 1500 square feet (140 square meters) roof garden. This listing is just for one of the bedrooms, sharing the rest of the apartment and garden.

The room has an Oriental theme, with a king size hardwood four poster bed, made in Bali Indonesia. The textiles include cotton sheets and Indian and Thai silk and satin embroidered textiles, some of which are hand embroidered; there is a goose feather duvet and feather pillows. The room has white wooden floors with Chinese wool rugs.

The apartment is is part of the Pullens buildings ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pullens_buildings ) and is a conservation area which includes apartments and numerous art and craft workshops to the rear of the ground floor.

It is a short walk to Elephant and Castle (Zone1) underground station or Kennington (Zone 2). I have been a world traveller throughout my life and I am quite used to flat-sharing.

You are welcome to use the kitchen, refrigerator and the washing machine and you can just make yourself at home.

There are an abundance of shops and supermarkets in the area where you can source your own groceries; however I prepare a continental breakfast in the morning and you are welcome to help yourself to coffee, tea, toast and snacks at any time of the day or night.

The roof garden is perfect for romantic dinners, lunches, breakfasts, barbecues, or just sitting in the evening under the stars, and there are wonderful views of the lights of central London at night, and we are overlooked by the iconic Shard building and the Strata tower.

The property is on the top floor (third floor). The street is very quiet in the evening as the street is a cul-de-sac and there is no through traffic. It is within walking distance (25+ minutes) to the South Bank (River Thames) museums, theatres and the London Eye, which we can get a clear view of from the roof garden.

We are one stop on the underground to Waterloo (The London Eye / South Bank)). I am five stops on the underground south of Picadilly Circus on the Bakerloo line. You can see the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben in the distance from the roof garden, and we can hear Big Ben chiming from the roof and from the Oriental bedroom.

The price is for the room; not per person, by the way.

If you smoke, and you wish to smoke in the bedroom, or burn incense and candles, that is OK but I would ask however that you be careful with all the fabrics. Since there is a large outdoor roof garden, both smokers and non smokers are welcome.

Parking: there is ample free parking in the evenings and weekends. There is no free parking weekdays; during the weekdays there are parking meters, or you I can drive you to a residential area a couple of miles to the south of here where there is free parking. I can provide daily visitor's parking permits so that you may park in the resident's parking zones outside the flat; these cost £3.50 per day from the local council, but please let me know in advance if you need parking as I often run out of tickets.

I like to be as flexible as possible with arrival and departure times; you can arrive any time and leave any time; however if there are other house guests leaving on the day you arrive or arriving on the day you depart, you may of course leave your luggage here but I will need to change the sheets and towels in the room and clean the room.

If you require the entire two bedroom flat (Sleeps 4) which has two oriental themed rooms, both with four poster beds, please see my other listing. This listing is just for the one bedroom (sleeps 2).

My boyfriend and I both live in the apartment and sleep in the second bedroom; either he, myself or both of us are always living here.

Apart from this, we are rather easy going, laid back, friendly and I don't really have any house rules and you can just feel at home.

Addendum: Sept 2013

Please note:

1: The apartment is on the third floor (top floor: see photos) of a 19th century apartment building and that there is no elevator, and a staircase to climb and thus it is unsuitable for persons with certain kinds of physical disabilities.

2: The apartment is a garden apartment and there are numerous plants, flowers, trees around the apartment, including floral window boxes and house plants, and also there are two white fantailed doves living in the roof garden and that it is really not suitable for persons with flower and plant allergies (pollen allergies); I do keep all the windows open in the summertime because of the heat, and I do tend to burn incense and have fragrant oil burners to keep bees, flies and butterflies etc., out of the apartment, but it is not an enclosed modern, synthetic, air-conditioned apartment.

Love and regards

Arlette

Read more
Space offered Private room
Accommodates 2
Bed type Real bed
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms 1
Bathroom type Shared
Size 13.0 m2
Cancellation policy Strict
House rules View
City London
ID 26699
Details
  • Balcony
  • Breakfast
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Garden
  • Gay-friendly
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Kitchen
  • Panoramic view
  • Phone
  • Shower/bath
  • Smoking allowed
  • TV
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi (wireless LAN)
Availability calendar and prices
Prices
Price per night
Weekend price per night
7+ nights
28+ nights
General price
$78.92
$78.92
$71.03
$71.03
Place reviews
4.0 stars

(108 reviews)

  • Cleanliness 4.0 stars
  • Facilities 4.0 stars
  • Location 5.0 stars
  • Value for money 5.0 stars
  • Accuracy of description 5.0 stars
  • Placeholder_user_img_60
    Pamela 5.0 stars 03/01/2012

    loved it! the room is so beautiful, very clean and central.

  • Small
    Maria 5.0 stars 02/14/2012

    The room was very sunny, bed was comfortable, 20 minutes walk to big ben, 5 to tube. Big possitive!!

  • Placeholder_user_img_60
    Ira 5.0 stars 01/25/2012

    Everything was as described, except that we even got a great breakfast every day. The flat is excellently connected by public transport.

  • + 60 reviews from partners.
Show more reviews
Host reviews
Small
Arlette 5.0 stars

(48 reviews)

  • Placeholder_user_img_60
    Pamela 5.0 stars 03/01/2012

    just great :) thank you for having us!

  • Small
    Maria 5.0 stars 02/14/2012

    Arlette is full of possitive energy, made my best birthday party ever. Very friendly and open.

  • Placeholder_user_img_60
    Ira 5.0 stars 01/25/2012

    Very amiable and friendly hosts, who did everything to make our stay a pleasant one.

Show more reviews
from $71 /night
Private room
Apartment
Availability
1 of the next 30 nights
Discount
for 7+ nights and 28+ nights
Child discount
Children aged 0-16

Adults

+ -

Children

+ -
What is instant booking?

Instant Booking

This place is 'instantly bookable’. This means you can book it now, without sending a booking request to the host first. All instant booking places are offered with our best hosts.
Phone
Booking hotline
+44 (0) 2035 149 450
Mon – Fri, 9am – 5pm GMT+1

Location of the place

9flats guarantees you

  • Transparency - No hidden fees
  • Quality assured accommodation
  • All hosts verified by telephone
  • Secure payment via SSL encryption
  • Security through 9flats-insurance covering damages up to € 500.000

Host of this place

Medium
Are you sure you want to give your personal contact details? Please note, if you continue with this booking outside 9flats we can't help you if something goes wrong.
or Cancel
close